New Jersey DUI Attorney | Douglas Herring DWI / DUI
New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring
New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring
Our award winning firm dedicates itself to New Jersey DUI Defense. The Law Office of Douglas Herring is the New Jersey DUI Attorney Help Center.
DWI arrest is very serious in New Jersey. You can face mandatory license suspensions, high monetary costs, increased penalties for years, and other extreme impacts on your life. You need an experienced and successful DWI defense attorney. Let us take away your uncertainty and give you the defense you deserve.
First Offense DUI
Your First Offense DUI can carry heavy penalties. Fees, classes, and possible jail time await first time offenders without a proper defense.
Second Offense DUI
Second Offense DUI holds serious penalties including mandatory jail time and ignition interlock. Your freedom depends on your defense.
Third Offense DUI
Third Offense DUI means 180 days in jail, community service, Over $6000 in fees and incredible stress. This offense could change your life forever.
About New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring
Our firm specializes in all matters of New Jersey DUI Defense. Whether you have been arrested for the first time or the fourth time we are dedicated to your defense. New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring has upheld his position since 1997. He began his career as a California Deputy District Attorney. In this position, Douglas led the Hardcore Gang Unit located in the Compton Courthouse. After transferring to New Jersey, Douglas was appointed as an Assistant United States Attorney. He held this position before joining the legal team at the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office where he gained additional experience as an Assistant Prosecutor. New Jersey DUI Attorney Herring has participated in over one hundred jury trials and numerous court hearings. Douglas’ widespread experience in all phases of the judicial process has made him one of the most dominant attorneys in the New Jersey Legal system. He is an expert in matters ranging from murder, gang crimes, robbery, weapons, theft, embezzlement, and especially DWI/DUI.
Mr. Herring is a member of the Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers of New Jersey. He is also a key member DUI Defense Lawyers Association and the National College for DUI Defense. Mr. Herring earned the honor of being named as one of the Best Attorneys in America, this prestigious award bestowed to a mere one percent of the Attorneys. In 2014, the National Trial Lawyers Association selected New Jersey DUI Attorney Herring for their Top 100 Trial Lawyers. If you need a New Jersey DUI Attorney for your defense look no further.
We serve the following localities: Mercer County including Ewing, Hightstown, Pennington, Princeton, Trenton, and West Windsor; Middlesex County including East Brunswick, Highland Park, Metuchen, Milltown, Monroe Township, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, Old Bridge, Perth Amboy, Piscataway, Plainsboro, Sayreville, South Amboy, South River, and Woodbridge; and Somerset County including Basking Ridge, Bridgewater, Somerset, and Somerville.
Under New Jersey law, the police first need a reason to stop your car. If they have a reason to stop your car, the police officer will speak with you. The answers to the questions or how you look may give the police officer a reason to conduct a field sobriety test (FST). When pulled over, DO NOT ADMIT TO DRINKING ANY AMOUNT OF ALCOHOL . You need to understand that the officer needs probable cause to arrest you for DWI and this field sobriety test is how the officer is building the probable cause to arrest you.
The National Highway, Traffic, and Safety Administration (NHTSA) has published guidelines for three approved tests, known as standardized field sobriety tests (SFST). They are the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) Test, One leg stand, and Walk-and-turn.
Your results on these tests and any other non-standardized tests provide the officer the reason to believe you were under the influence.
Remember, you are not required to take these tests. You are not required to help the police officer find a reason to arrest you . If you do not take the tests, the police officer will have to decide if he feels he has enough reason to arrest you. Later in court, we can challenge whether the officer had enough reason to arrest you.
Once you are arrested, you will be taken to the police station to have a test of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). In New Jersey, you gave consent to submit to a test to determine your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, if you are arrested for DWI when you got a license. This is referred to as implied consent. You must take the BAC test and New Jersey Statute 39:4-50.4a is the state’s “Refusal Statute.” This means if a law officer arrests you for drunk driving and you refuse to take a requested breath test, your driver’s license will be revoked.
In summary: When pulled over, be polite to the officer and do not admit to drinking any amount of alcohol. Refuse to take the field sobriety tests. If you are still arrested after remaining silent and not taking the field sobriety test, take the Blood Alcohol Test when it is administered back at the station as you are required to do so and failure to do so results in loss of license. Finally, contact a New Jersey DUI Attorney. If you follow this procedure I have the best chance of a successful DUI defense.
In New Jersey, you are considered driving under the influence if your blood alcohol level is 0.08 percent or greater. Your blood alcohol level can be tested by a breathalyzer or a blood test. If your blood alcohol level is over 0.10 percent, the penalties you face can be more severe.
A police officer can pull you over if he notes any suspicious behavior that indicates you may have been drinking prior to getting behind the wheel. A few red flags include driving too slow, swerving from side to side of the road, driving in the wrong lane, and failure to properly use headlights. Once you’re pulled over, he’ll look for the traditional indicators of intoxication. This includes a flushed face, bloodshot eyes, alcohol odor on breath or clothing, slurring words, fumbling movements, stumbling, and disorientation..
Many good citizens of our state make that one bad decision that results in them being convicted of a minor criminal or drug offense and it can negatively impact the rest of their lives. Having a criminal record can prevent you from getting the job you need, or joining the military, or getting a home loan. Even though you have been a law-abiding citizen since that incident, that one mistake comes back to haunt you every time your background history is checked.
Thanks to the New Jersey Reform Act, you might be eligible to have that conviction expunged from your record for good! Chapter 52 of Title 2C (52-1) of the New Jersey Statutes enables you to have your criminal record expunged under certain circumstances for certain charges (including some minor criminal and drug offenses, juvenile offenses, and charges in townships and cities such as public intoxication). The New Jersey Legislature found that citizens convicted of single minor offenses suffered unduly hardships throughout their lives because they were prevented from gainful employment, housing loans, admission to colleges and universities and the military.If you would like to talk about a possible expungement contact New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring today!